Take Two

Went in for my second IVIG therapy today, and it was a vastly different experience than my last one. Instead of curling up in a ball, sobbing, shivering and in quite a bit of lower back and knee pain, I made it through this round without a hitch. No pain, no feeling of cold, not even a headache. I still have yet to develop one, which is amazing. My mother thinks that it’s because this time around my body is a little more used to it. A lifetime of zero immunoglobulin and then suddenly pumping 25mg of the stuff in…makes sense that it made me feel awful.

However, what did make me feel awful…how about some serious high blood sugar levels. Woke up well over 300 this morning, so I shot up via syringe. Added a bunch more before breakfast mostly because I mistakenly stacked doses, but knowing that I was fixing to be pumped with 5% dextrose solution, I didn’t worry about it. Ran some errands, found that my blood sugar was high again, went to the bathroom and discovered that my set had come disconnected. So I snapped myself in, bolused through the pump and figuring that everything was fine, went on my way.

I spent the rest of the afternoon pumping insulin through a syringe until I ended up logging a 403 after a supper that consisted of carb-free crab cakes and sauteed zucchini that could not have had more than 2g of carbohydrates in the entire meal. So I decided the site had gone bad after less than 24 hours in, so I went to change it out.

Well, that explains a lot…

Yup, the cannula kinked. That happens an awful lot. It makes me sad, since it makes it so that very limited insulin comes out of the system, sending blood sugars through the roof. So, I sighed, and busted open the box of Medtronic Mio infusion sets that I had received in my last order because I had heard that they didn’t kink as much and I finally remembered to change. Added bonus, they’re bright pink. So now that’s in and I’m hoping that my blood sugar will come back down.

But all in all, the infusion was a success. Minimal complications, and the cough I had been developing the last week has magically disappeared. With any amount of luck, over the next three days my lungs will clear out and I can actually run. Which would be excellent, seeing as I’m doing my first 5K on Saturday.

I will say though that while I don’t exactly look forward to IVIG sessions, I do look forward to feeling well afterwards. Never before had I known what it was like to feel healthy, and I’m well on my way to feeling completely normal for the first time in my life – or at least as close to normal as one can feel with type 1 diabetes. I have always wanted to be able to run, and my lungs always burned like fire whenever I did. Since starting IVIG, I have been able to do it with minimal chest discomfort – in fact, the pain comes more from my out-of-shape thighs and the knee that I had an ACL reconstruction done on just before my 15th birthday.

Today, I feel like a whole new woman. And I’m looking forward to going out and exercising tomorrow. That will be my last run/walk before the 5K. And I can’t wait. 🙂

Leave a Reply

