Rolling the Ball on IVIG

So I talked with the nurse at my immunologist’s office today. Apparently, the labs came back “not where we would like them,” and they want to start intravenous immunoglobulin therapy. I really wish she had been a little more detailed or I had thought to speak with the doctor about it, because he’s much more of a straight shooter and I appreciate straight shooters. But anyway, the plan right now is to start IVIG here really soon, do that for three months and then go into the office to discuss starting subcutaneous immunoglobulin therapy.

That conversation was somewhat amusing in my opinion:

“So, you’ll be given it through the skin, kind of like a diabetic. Now it’s a lot of needles and poking and a lot of people have problems with that especially giving themselves the needles. Do you think that is something you’ll be interested in?”

“Well, it turns out I am a diabetic, so needles really don’t bother me. As a matter of fact, I’m on an insulin pump so I know what it’s like to be hooked up to a machine 24/7. So yeah, let’s do it.”

I wish I could be hooked up to my insulin pump for only 2 hours a week like it is with the SCIG. That would be pretty sweet.

But for now the plan is thus: three months of IVIG in the hospital so that I can be monitored. Assessment after the third infusion, then getting the ball rolling on SCIG.

Sounds like a plan, man.

Leave a Reply

