Not-So-Low-Carb

When my blood sugar drops, I have a tough time keeping with my low-carb diet. Cookies and crackers are my weakness. Today, however, I think I did a halfway decent job:

Image

That’s low-carb crackers made with almond flour and flaxmeal, cheddar cheese, sliced turkey and…kiwi? *GASP!* Kiwi isn’t low carb! But it does have quite a bit of sugar, which when you’re rocking a blood glucose level of 63 and have .325 units of active insulin still left in your system from breakfast, sugar is somewhat of a necessity.

To be honest, I don’t keep with the hardcore low carb high fat philosophy. For starters, I don’t eat much in the way fats. I don’t know why, I just don’t like them. I know that fat isn’t the bad guy that it has been made out to be in the past, it just doesn’t fit my palate. I also eat more carbs than a lot of people I know. I am good at keeping my meals at around 10g of carbs, but it’s the snacks that kill me. I know that eating more fat will help keep me full and therefore keep me from snacking, but I don’t know.

I lost all the baby weight in 3 months while on the low-carb diet, and I have now stalled, which makes it even more difficult for me to stick with it. Sometimes, I’ll say “fuck it” and eat a biscuit. But a lot of times, I’ll get three bites in and go “meh, just kidding.” I have added in walking every night (I’m training for a 5K in July), and have lost two pounds this week. So that’s good at least. My insulin needs have also gone down, but I don’t think I will be able to get down to my goal of under 20 units a day. I would probably have to lose another 20 lbs for that to even be possible, and I’m not entirely sure I can lose another 20 lbs. 10, I can do 10. But not 20.

But, we shall see.

Leave a Reply

