The Dawn Phenomenon

It’s amazing how one low blood sugar can ruin your entire morning.

In today’s break from whining about CVID, I’m going to whine about the fun experiences that diabetes can bring. Like when your blood sugar drops in the middle of the night, you sleep right through it and your liver dumps glucose to keep you alive. Hell, sometimes your liver just dumps glucose for the simple reason of making sure you can wake up.

The result is high blood sugars for the morning. That, in my case, will keep on rising unless I jack up the insulin pump and bolus a ton for the high blood sugars I’m already rocking. Then I get to go through the fun of putting off breakfast until my blood sugars lower themselves a little bit.

I could really go for some sausage and eggs. Too bad protein also raises your blood sugar.

Dawn Phenomenon. That sounds like such a lovely thing. To any normal person, they would probably think you’re referring to how the dew falls on the grass in the early hours of the morning, dropped by the wands of fairies flying about the countryside. But to a diabetic, dawn phenomenon is a nussiance that needs to be controlled, and is a pain in the arse at that. My issue is that when think I have finally figured out how to control it, three days later and I’m back to square one.

They say that illness can affect your blood sugars. I wonder if my being sick all the time is having an effect on my glucose readings. No, I don’t wonder, I know that being sick all the time has an effect on my blood glucose readings. I’m rolling around like a roller coaster, rising during periods of illness and crashing when I get better because my pump has been set too high. And then I get sick again, and once more I go through the merry-go-round of insulin pump adjustments.

I’m really hoping that I can get well sooner rather than later. I think that once we get this all figured out, not only will I feel better from a sickness standpoint, but also a diabetes standpoint. My A1c’s have always been good, stellar even. But the constant ups and downs and perpetual insulin adjustments are just exhausting. Being high one day and low the next is exhausting.

I’m just exhausted. I need a nap.

 

Leave a Reply

